LEARN, SHOP & CHAT ABOUT PLASTIC SURGERY, BEAUTY AND ANTI-AGING
  Specialist Directory Home    Rate My Doctor    Doctor Center
Doctor Search:

Plastic Surgeon & Dermatologist Directory - With Patient Reviews & Ratings



Basic Information Procedures Pictures Certifications & EducationMy Staff & FacilityGetting To Know Me Reviews

Dr. Sherrell Aston: My Profile
Views: 24919

 

OVERALL RATING FOR Dr. Sherrell Aston

Overall Rating:

  (7.89 out of 10)
(8 reviews)

Rate This Individual/Business and share your opinions with other customers.

(1.19)

Terrible doctor, and of very poor character. Shame on him. , June 24, 2013, 8:29 pm
Reviewer: Rooks123

Dr. Aston performed a very botched rhinoplasty on me when I was 17. My nose turned out crooked and very collapsed on one side to the point where I couldn't breathe. It also had an overall unnatural appearance due to an "open-roof deformity" caused by the surgeon overly resecting the bridge and not realigning the bones properly. Valve collapses and open-roofs such as this are apparently common mistakes made by bad and/or inexperienced surgeons. Except that Dr. Aston had many years of experience and was somehow on the list of top plastic surgeons, so I didn't exactly expect those types of problems.

I returned and he denied that there was any problem and kind of blamed my anatomy, saying that some people are just asymmetrical, even though it was not like that pre-surgery. I was young and naively trusted him given his reputation, and I just lived uncomfortably for a few years. I returned for another office visit, and he again denied that there was any problem. He claimed that my inferior turbinate (inner structure deep in nasal passage) was enlarged on that side and said it would help if he removed it. Again, I was naive and made the mistake to trust him. Not only was there no improvement after that surgery, but I started having chronic congestion and infections, which I at first thought were due to allergies or environmental issues of some sort. I never connected these problems to the surgery until I finally saw an ENT, and he put the pieces of the puzzle together.

It turns out that completely removing the turbinate, as Aston did, is actually considered MALPRACTICE, as my ENT and a second doctor (both actually double boarded as plastic surgeons AND ENTs) informed me. The breathing problem was clearly due to the valve collapse from Aston's initial surgery. And as he should have known, turbinates may occasionally be reduced in rare cases, but not since the 1950s has it been standard practice to remove the entire thing. Since then, it was well known that the turbinates play essential roles in proper airflow (google "empty nose syndrome" or talk to any ENT worth their salt). Anyway, I wound up permanently losing my sense of smell (which is what led me to see the ENT), most likely due to the chronic dryness and uneven airflow that results from turbinate removal, which sets the stage for chronic infections. Chronic infections can eventually lead to permanent damage to the olfactory epithelium located high up in the nasal cavity, and this is what mostly likely happened in my case according to my doctors.

I eventually had a revision rhinoplasty done, but I first went back to Aston to ask if he would contribute to the cost of the revision since he clearly botched things so badly, not once but twice. I knew it was a long shot, but he at least deserved to be confronted, now that this was finally all clarified by the other doctors. He first had the nerve, or genuine ignorance (some of both I think) to flat out deny each and all of the problems that my doctors had spelled out. By the time I left, for some reason, perhaps to seem reasonable in front of his assistant who was in the room or to his colleagues who would hear about it, he agreed to consider paying and said he'd speak with the surgeon who would be doing the revision and get back to me. It was hard to tell whether Dr. Aston either truly did not know that you're not supposed to remove the turbinate, OR if he was just blatantly lying. Either way, extremely unimpressive. The surgeon who did the revision mentioned to me that he had a similar experience when he spoke with Aston about this.

Giving him the "benefit of the doubt," even if he removed the turbinate out of genuine ignorance, there is absolutely no way he didn't see the obvious aesthetic problems. He still chose to simply deny everything, despite the open-roof and collapsed side being so plainly visible. It was ridiculous, and he knew it. Adding insult to injury, he ignored all attempts to get an answer about covering the revision cost, even after I sent him a copy of the surgery report, which detailed that the problems corrected were clearly caused by the original surgery. Long story, but he had reliable assurance that I wasn't suing him, so there were no valid reasons from a legal standpoint for not acknowledging responsibility. Purely an ego issue.

Dr. Aston did an outdated and harmful surgery either out of ignorance or as an attempt to cover up his initial screw-up, failed to take any responsibility for either, and lied repeatedly. Completely unacceptable, as a physician and as a human being.

I suspect that most, if not all, of the positive reviews here are fake.

See full review

(10.00)

Dr. Aston exceeded my expectations!!!, February 25, 2012, 2:57 pm
Reviewer: fancybear2

I had my surgery only 10 days ago and the results have already exceeded my expectations!! Dr Aston performed rhinoplasty, a chin implant and eyelid surgery on me. The whole process from the consultation, to the surgery to the after care has been above and beyond anything I expected. Dr Aston and his staff made the whole process so easy for me. The doctor himself called me the day before surgery to see if I had any questions and called me a few hours after I was released from the hospital to check on me and to give me his personal cell number just in case I needed anything at anytime during the night. This made me feel so safe and was exceptional treatment that no other doctor has ever provided for me. I have been going on consultations for a few years now and really wanted to have this surgery, but none of the other doctors made me feel as confident as Dr. Aston did. My face looks completely natural and I am so happy I chose the perfect doctor for the job!!!

See full review

(10.00)

The Best, September 29, 2011, 8:02 pm
Reviewer: djfontana

Had a facelift with excellent results and great follow up.
The person who wrote the bitchy, catty review dealing with her (his) mother's surgery doesn't know what he/she is talking about. Dr. Aston hasn't had any assistants for quite a while and when he did, he had one very capable female associate in his office. So the claim that Dr. Aston left the mother in the care of his "assistants" is totally false. He never does so and I have used him more than once and so have a number of my friends.

See full review

(9.71)

Best experience ever!!, September 22, 2011, 10:09 am
Reviewer: Avidgolfer

I went to several consultations, and I felt the most comfortable and more importantly, the most confident with Dr.Aston. From my first appointment through my follow up appointments, he and his staff were professional and so nice!! And my result is amazing!! So natural looking and feeling. I would not hesitate to recommend him for any surgery.

See full review

(2.19)

My Mom's Experience , February 2, 2010, 7:26 am
Reviewer: mary87

My mom, in her sixties, saved up for a total face-lift and eye-lift with Dr. Aston. I didn't think she really needed it, but I was there to support her. Dr. Aston was very small, slick and pretty but honestly? in the hospital he impressed me as unctuous and patronizing to both my mother and me. And once the surgery was done, he was nowhere to be found. All her complaints and questions were handled by his much younger (and even more arrogant) junior surgeons. One eye was lopsided. She said it felt uneven while she still in the hospital, and then it was worse as she healed. Dr. Aston and the entire staff was so uncaring and irritated. I've since read up on him. Yes, he's very rich and travels in high society and gets in a lot of magazines. I'm sure he can be charming. But to me, he's everything that's wrong with plastic surgery. If and when I need work, I'm going to avoid this type of person!

See full review

(10.00)

Incomparable!!, November 6, 2009, 10:14 am
Reviewer: Randall651

Dr. Aston did my eyes and the results were top notch. Plus he must give the most personalized service in NYC given that he is very charming and has an excellent office staff.
I don't live in NYC, so not long ago I went to a local plastic surgeon for some injections of Juvederm. This second plastic surgeon has been president of the local state society (a very large state) of plastic surgeons and he himself has been practicing 40 years. He looked at my eys and asked what doctor I had used and said "Dr. Aston." The doctor's immediate reponse was "Dr. Aston sure did a wonderful job on your eyes." So that's just not my opinion it's the opinion of a well regarded, fellow professional with years of experience who spends a lot of his own time teaching.
You can always find someone cheaper in any profession. I know well-to-do people who have foolishly sought out doctors who charge very low prices. They paid a heavy price for the "economy" they experienced because they entrusted their faces, of all things, to doctors who weren't very good. Most qualified doctors can do a decent gall bladder operation. Plastic surgery however requires a great deal of artistry, only some of which can be learned. If a doctor doesn't have this sense, it probably means you will end up with a passable job, but no better than that. Save money on cheaper underwear. It doesn't show like your face. Anyway Dr. Aston's fees weren't any different than a couple of other well known doctors I went to see. It's an inexpensive investment when you consider how long the results last and how much better one looks.

See full review

(10.00)

No one can beat Dr. Aston, April 16, 2009, 1:40 pm
Reviewer: leahhit

about a week ago, I went in to get a nose job by Dr. Aston. I am pleased to say that the bruising, pain, and swelling were minimal and I absolutely love my nose. Dr. Aston managed to perfect my very unusual nose, while keeping it looking natural and beautiful. It has been about 10 days since surgery and I can already tell that my nose is going to look great. And not only was he a great doctor, he is very compassionate and friendly. He called me the night before surgery, asking if i had any questions or concerns. His office and staff are very warm and welcoming, and i felt extremely comfortable in his hands. I visited with Dr. Tabbal and Dr. Turk prior to meeting Dr. Aston, and they did not hold a candle. The overall experience was enjoyable and I recommend Dr. Aston with the highest regards.

See full review

(10.00)

The BEST!, April 9, 2009, 10:38 am
Reviewer: greatnose

After much thought and research, I finally decided to have a rhinoplasty with Dr. Aston. I was impressed with his comforting manner, his unbeatable experience, and the overall warmth of his office. I love my new nose! It looks better and breathes better. Though it was a HUGE cosmetic change, my friends and family can’t quite put their finger on what’s different...and that’s exactly the reaction I was hoping for! I think this is because my new nose looks so natural—like a nose I should have been born with. I couldn’t be more pleased. Thank you Dr. Aston!

See full review

<- Previous page Next page ->